Large Field for 31st FFA Futsal Nationals


One Hundred and Twenty One squads will take to the courts around the region ranging from under-11?s, through to Open Age, as the cream of Australia?s indoor talent battles to become the National Champion in their respective age-groups.
Two teams from the Solomon Islands have confirmed their entry in the tournament, taking the court in under-12 boy?s and under-15 boy?s competitions, whilst Auckland Futsal, from New Zealand, will place two entrants in the under-11?s boy?s competition.
NSW (Thunder and Lightning) has a large presence, as usual, and will be favourites to take out a number of titles from the thirty-one squads entered. Likewise the home town team, the ACT, who put out twenty-one teams across the spectrum of the age groups.
Each state throughout Australia will field at least one team in the 31st FFA Futsal National Championships with Western Australia and Tasmania represented with four and one squads respectively.
A full breakdown of State participation in the 31st FFA Futsal National Championships follows:
Number of Squads
31 ? NSW (Thunder & Lightning)
21 ? ACT
18 ? Victoria
12 ? Queensland
11 ? Northern NSW
10 ? South Australia
9 ? Southern NSW
4 ? Western Australia
2 ? Auckland Futsal
2 ? Solomon Islands
1 ? Tasmania  
Action commences in the nation?s Capital on 11th January 2010, with finals scheduled for 15th January 2010. For further information on the FFA National Futsal Championships, visit

  • 31th Anniversary of Futsal Nationals
    (First nationals were held in Melbourne in 1980)
  •  22nd time the ACT has hosted the nationals
  • 121 teams competing
  • 31 teams from NSW, 21 – ACT, 18 ? Victoria, 12 ? Queensland, 11 ? Northern NSW, 10 ? South Australia, 9 ? Southern NSW, 4 ? Western Australia, 2 ? Auckland Futsal, 2 ? Solomon Islands, 1 ? Tasmania
  • International Teams: Solomon Islands (under -15  Boys & under-12 Boys), Auckland Futsal (under-11 Boys ? 2 teams)
  • Over 400 games (420 approximately) played at four venues (AIS Arena, ANU, Mpowerdome, and Southern Cross, Tuggeranong) over five days
  • NSW Thunder are defending Mens Open Champions, defeating ACT Cobras 2-1 in the Final. Lachlan WRIGHT opened the scoring for NSW, before Pat ROSS-MAGEE equalised for ACT. Adrian VIZZARI scored the winning goal for NSW in the 49th minute.
  • NSW Thunder are defending Women?s Open Champions, defeating NSW Lightening 1-0 in the 2008 Final. Natalie SPIROVSKI scored the game?s only goal.
  • In the 2009 competition, NSW Thunder won 11 titles, with NSW Lightning 2, Queensland 1 and Victoria 1.