Annual Para Football Awards celebrated at the Gold Coast


Forward Daniel Campbell and goalkeeper Katelyn Smith have taken out the prestigious Player of the Year prizes as the 2022 Annual Para Football Awards held at the Southport Yacht Club on the Gold Coast. 

19-year-old Campbell was rewarded for a stellar year with the CommBank Pararoos in which he recorded his first ever hattrick at the IFCPF Men’s World Cup.  For Campbell it completes the set of awards following his 2018 Young Pararoo of the Year.

A Perth native, Smith collected another piece of history on the night as she claimed the inaugural CommBank ParaMatildas Player of the Year title.  Imperious for the women’s national team in their first IFCPF Women’s World Cup campaign, Smith was awarded the Goalkeeper of the Tournament following the team’s silver medal winning run.

26-year-old Smith also claimed the women’s Golden Glove for 2022 to join her trophy from the World Cup.  While in the men’s Golden Glove category, veteran CommBank Pararoos custodian Christopher Barty shook off the strong challenge from the up and coming Christian Tsangas.

In the Rookie of the Year category, World Cup debutants Jeremy Boyce and Rae Anderson were recognised for their performances this year.

Goal of the Year delighted those in attendance with the quality of the two strikes as Connor Bunce and Eloise Northam both produced stunners against the United States in their respective World Cup matches.   

The final awards of the night were presented by former Paralympian Kurt Fearnley as he announced the Undefeated Champions for 2022. This category acknowledges and celebrates those players who have demonstrated their “undefeated” spirit both on and off the pitch. Benjamin Sutton and Tahlia Blanshard collected the awards for their tireless and selfless promotion of their respective teams and as powerful disability advocates. Their consistent efforts across social media and through public forums have helped shape conversations, break down barriers, and show the next generation that anything is possible.

The Para Football Awards Dinner is part of the 2022 Para Football National Championship currently taking place at Runaway Bay on the Gold Coast from 24 – 28 September.

All the latest updates are available here with daily wraps of the match action.  The 2022 champions will be crowned this Tuesday with the Finals Day streamed live on Football Australia’s My Football YouTube.



(Winners in bold)

CommBank Pararoo of the Year:

·       Daniel Campbell

·       Christopher Barty

·       Connor Marsh

·       Connor Bunce

CommBank ParaMatilda of the Year:

·       Katelyn Smith

·       Tahlia Blanshard

·       Georgia Beikoff

·       Rae Anderson

CommBank Pararoo Rookie of the Year:

·       Jeremy Boyce

·       Luc Launder

·       Kaylan Van Heer

CommBank ParaMatilda Rookie of the Year:

·       Rae Anderson

·       Tahlia Blanshard

·       Lainee Harrison

Golden Glove (Men’s):

·       Christopher Barty

·       Christian Tsangas

Golden Glove (Women’s):

·       Katelyn Smith

·       Holly Saunders

Goal of the Year (Men’s):

·       Connor Bunce vs USA

·       Connor Bunce vs Germany

·       Daniel Campbell vs Canada (second goal)

Goal of the Year (Women’s):

·       Eloise Northam vs USA (Final)

·       Katelyn Smith vs USA (Final)

·       Georgia Beikoff vs Spain (4th Goal)

Undefeated Champion (Men’s):

·       Benjamin Sutton

·       Daniel Perinich

·       Christian Tsangas

Undefeated Champion (Women’s):

·       Tahlia Blanshard

·       Katelyn Smith

·       Rae Anderson

-FA Press Release