Football Canterbury’s volunteers celebrated at volunteer recognition dinner


Football Canterbury held their Volunteer Recognition Dinner on Friday with notable volunteers from across the association recognised for their hard work.

While the event is billed as annual, due to Covid restrictions this was the first celebration of volunteers since 2019, with clubs allowed to nominate up to two award recipients to make up for the gap.

Andrew McVeigh, Armando Gardiman, Ian Holmes, and Strathfield were the stars of the night while recognition also went to Ashfield Pirates and 29 other award winners.

Vince & Val Laws Medal

McVeigh and Gardiman were both awarded Vince & Val Laws Medals.

The Vince & Val Laws medal is given to an individual who has been nominated for their outstanding contribution to the development of football in the CDSFA and is generally known as the most prestigious award for volunteers in the Association.

It recognises a person who has been dedicated to football across their lifetime and has exceeded expectations of what would normally be expected of an individual.

McVeigh has been a tireless worker for football and Burwood FC for the best part of 15 years where he has seen significant infrastructure upgrades, earning over $4 million worth of funding.

As well as this, McVeigh has been a fundamental part of Burwood FC: holding the position of President since 2013.

Gardiman, Football Canterbury’s Chairman, was announced as the second recipient of the Vince & Val Laws Medal.

Having always served Football Canterbury with distinction, Gardiman’s contributions at the highest level of the game have significantly placed the Association in a better position and enhanced this Association’s standing in the football community.

Gardiman has been a player, a coach, has served as the Chair of the CDSFA Disciplinary Committee and the CDSFA Appeals Committee, he has served on three Commissions of Inquiry within football, and has chaired the Football NSW General Purposes Tribunal.

He is a Life Member of Football Canterbury.

Hall of Fame

In a surprise presentation at the end of the volunteer recognition proceedings, Ian Holmes was inducted into Football Canterbury’s Hall of Fame.

On his final day as Football Canterbury’s CEO, Holmes, who served football for almost 50 years at local, state, and national level, became the 23rd inductee into the Hall of Fame – and one of only a handful of administrators.

Holmes has helped make fundamental change as the General Manager of the NSW Soccer Federation (1987-1991), CEO and Commissioner of the Australian Soccer Federation (1991-1995), General Manager of the NSW Amateur Soccer Federation (1998-1999), General Manager of Soccer Australia (1999-2002), and General Manager of Football NSW (2007-2011).

In his most recent time with CDSFA, Holmes has been instrumental in securing over $15 million dollars in government grants for the region and its clubs.

Crystal Cup

Strathfield FC were announced as the Crystal Cup winners for the first time in their history.

The Crystal Cup is the perpetual trophy awarded to the annual Club Champions of Football Canterbury.

Bert Harvey Award

Ashfield Pirates were announced as the Bert Harvey Award winners for the first time in their history.

The Bert Harvey Award is the perpetual trophy awarded to the annual Fair Play winners of Football Canterbury.

Full list of Award Recipients

Hall of Fame inductee: Ian Holmes
Vince & Val Laws Medal: Andrew McVeigh & Armando Gardiman
Crystal Cup: Strathfield FC
Bert Harvey Award: Ashfield Pirates

Cec Barlow Awards
Abbotsford JFC: Chris Williamson
ACU FC: Ashleigh Campbell
APIA Leichhardt JFC: Billy McColl & Anthony Mazza
Ashfield Pirates: Liz Dinh
Australian National Sports: Mustapha Aboucham
Balmain DFC: Sophie Chevell & Dimitri Tsioukanis
Belmore Eagles: Chris Hunt
Burwood FC: Michael Makaritis & Matthew Grew
Canterbury Lions: Michael Brooks
Canterbury Referees Association: Jerry Bitas & Samuel Grasso
Concord JSC: Michael Stavrou
Cooks River Titans: Christina Kambounias & Chris Xenikas
Enfield Rovers: Danny Silvestri
Hurlstone Park Wanderers: Adele Walsh & Steve Cumming
Leichhardt Saints: Matt Bowen
Marrickville Red Devils: Gary Schmidt & Walker Tapia
Punchbowl United: Nader Tabbaa & Jamal Hadid
Russel Lea Women’s SC: KT Wlodarczyk
Strathfield FC: Alex Georgopoulos & Peter Georgopoulos
Sydney Rangers: Mark Robinson

Image credit: Photographed with Love
*Football Canterbury Press Release