Para Football

Para Football is a modified version of the game and is specific to athletes with Cerebral Palsy, Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) and symptoms resulting from stroke. This football format is coordinated under the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) rules with slight modifications.


Football NSW offers both elite and grassroots pathways for players with CP, ABI or symptoms resulting from stroke. From ParaFootball Development Centres at a grassroots level to NSW State Teams, there are playing options for all levels.


ParaFootball Development Centres in NSW provide a grassroots playing and training option for participants of all abilities. There are currently two centres in NSW, details for these programs can be found below:


Where: North Turramurra Recreation Centre or Charles Bean Oval.
When: 2024 program 9am-11am

Feb 11
March 24
April 14
May 5
June 2
July 28
Aug 25

Contact: Ben Sutton on or 0413611526
For more information:


Where: Coachwood Oval, 48 Coachwood Crescent Alfords Point
When: 2024 program 5:30pm-7pm

March 17
April 21
May 19
June 16
July 21
August 18
September 15
October 20
November 17


In 2019, Football NSW launched the Female Only Para Training Program to develop the skills of female footballers in NSW. The program is run at Valentine Sports Park with qualified experienced coaches.


Where: Valentine Sports Park (235-257 Meurants Ln, Glenwood NSW 2768) – Field 3 Synthetic

2024 Session Dates:

  • Saturday March 3rd (10:00am to 11:30am)
  • Saturday April 27th (10:00am to 11:30am)
  • Saturday May 18th (10:30am to 12:00pm) (Special session with ParaMatildas coach Kelly Stirton)
  • Saturday June 15th  (10:00am to 11:30am)
  • Saturday August 10th (10:00am to 11:30am)
  • Saturday August 31st (11:00am to 12:30pm)
  • Saturday September 14th (10:00am to 11:30am)
  • Saturday September 28th (10:00am to 11:30am)
  • Saturday October 26th (10:00am to 11:30am)
  • Saturday November 30th (10:00am to 11:30am)

Register Here

NSW State Para Football Teams – 7-aside Football

Football NSW offers an elite pathway for players with CP, ABI or symptoms resulting in stroke through NSW representative teams. Players within these teams represent their state and compete in the National Para Football Championships which follows a modified version of football, this being 7-a-side Football. Many NSW State Team players also represent their country by playing for the Pararoos and ParaMatidlas.

This modified version of the game is conducted at a State and National level where by each team consists of 7 players, one of which is a goal keeper. The measurements of the playing field and goalposts are smaller, there is no offside rule and matches last 30 mins per half. For reasons of fairness, throw-ins are only allowed with one hand during match play.

In CP Football, players are provided with a classification between 1 and 3 – these three classes are named FT1, FT2, and FT3. Depending on the degree of each players impairment and other physical factors, players will be provided with one of these three classes. During match play, each team must maintain a line-up featuring players with varying levels of impairments and must include:

  • At least one FT1 player is to be on the field at one time.
  • Only one FT3 classified player is allowed on the field at one time.

National Para Football Championships

This annual tournament is a Football Australia (FA) event which sees players representing their state to battle it out for the title. Each year this National tournament is hosted by a different Member Federation across Australia and sees elite CP Football action.

National Para Football Championships Past Winners

YearNational ChampionScoreRunners Up
2004New South WalesQueensland
2005New South WalesQueensland
2006New South WalesQueensland
2007New South WalesQueensland
2008QueenslandNew South Wales
2009New South WalesQueensland
2010New South WalesQueensland
2011New South WalesQueensland
2012New South WalesQueensland
2013New South Wales4 - 1Queensland
2014New South Wales4 - 1Queensland
2015New South Wales1 - 0Queensland
2016New South Wales3 - 0Western Australia
2017New South Wales1 - 0 Victoria
2018New South Wales3 - 0Victoria
2019New South Wales Blue 5 - 1Football West
2022New South Wales Sky7 - 3Victoria
2023New South Wales8 - 0Western Australia

Program Contact

Annabel Meadley - Diversity and Inclusion Coordinator