Barrett to Enforce Attacking Football

a man wearing a uniform

With the likes of stars such as Tolgay Ozbey and Nahuel Arrarte joining the side for 2008, Barrett has been impressed with what he?s seen thus far during pre-season training and has hinted that a number of the club?s younger players will push for a starting role in the senior squad this year.
?I think we showed last year that the young players coming through have what it takes and I?d expect them again to be pushing for a first team spot.
?I?m very confident with the squad that we?ve got, we?ve got plenty of depth across the park and we?ll be looking to play an attacking brand of football.
?There has been a good intensity at training, and apart from a few niggling injuries, I?m very happy with where we?re at, at this stage.?
The former NSL defender has been pushing his chargers to the limit in preparation for the 2008 Johnny Warren Cup competition where the Stallions face new boys Western Sydney Berries on the 19th January at Marconi Stadium next Saturday evening.
?All the players have been very receptive and we?ve been doing a lot of pre-season work with the ball, it just hasn?t been about running and fitness.
?I think the days of just running for the sake of running are over and you do need a bit of variety when it comes to training ? I know the players certainly appreciate it.?
The Stallions will be in safe hands in the goalkeeper department with the likes of Marconi junior James Chronopoulos and new recruit from Bankstown City Cem Akilli fighting for that number one spot.
Apart from Ozbey, Arrarte and Akilli, the club has also snapped up former Sydney Olympic midfielder Ante Deur, former Sutherland Shire Sharks midfielder Jason Trifiro and rising youngster and former Demons Under 20?s player Sean Mitchell.
Marconi have also managed to secure the services of former A.P.IA.-Leichhardt Tigers defender Nathan Moulds, who spent a season in England with Conference side Grays Athletic.

Marconi Stallions Squad: Cem Akilli, Nahuel Arrarte, Luke Casserly, James Chronopoulos, Ante Deur, Stefan Donevski, Damien Foxe, Matthew Gordon, Ben Gough, Jay Lucas, Timothy McGowan, Sean Mitchell, Wade Oostendorp, Tolgay Ozbey, Kain Rastall, Vuko Tomasevic, Jason Trifiro, Nathan Moulds