McDonald?s Cup Round of 16 Review


The biggest shock of the evening was played at Francis Park when State League One outfit Blacktown Spartans defeated 2009 NSW Premier League Premiers Sydney United 4-3 on penalties after the game ended 1-1. Things were looking bright for the Reds when youngster Adam Jenner scored in the ninth minute however the Spartans replied with nine minutes remaining through midfielder Reece Iredale. The Spartans then held their nerves and courageously dumped out one of the favourites to lift the trophy via the penalty shoot-out and home fans were sent into raptures when Reds defender Michael Cindric missed his spot-kick to give Blacktown a famous victory. It was the second NSW Premier League side the Spartans defeated after they knocked out the Rockdale City Suns in Round 3 of the Cup.
At Lambert Park a five goal thriller took place between two traditional rivals A.P.I.A.-Leichhardt Tigers and Marconi Stallions but it was Lee Sterrey?s men that reigned supreme running out 3-2 victors. Matthew Hall scored two goals in the first half for the Stallions before Tigers Japanese import Hirofumi Moriyasu pegged one back for the hosts in the 63rd minute. Marconi then extended its lead in the 83rd minute through Laurence Braude before the Tigers grabbed a consolation goal in the 90th minute via Robert Younis.
At Jensen Park a solitary goal via a deft free-kick by South Coast Wolves midfielder Tayfun Buyukkopru a minute before full-time was enough to seal victory against Bankstown City, sending Trevor Morgan?s young squad to the final eight of the McDonald?s Cup competition.
2009 Cup winners Sutherland Sharks flexed its muscles when they overpowered Illawarra Premier League side Dandaloo FC 4-1 at Seymour Shaw. The Sharks opened the scoring through Nick Stavroulakis in the 12th minute before Neil Jablonski added a second in the 37th minute. Jimmy Bakis then notched up a third in the 49th minute before Jablonski scored his second and the game?s fourth in the 73rd minute. Dandaloo grabbed a late goal in the 84th minute via Paul Wither but it was too little too late for the South Coast side.
Blacktown City FC secured a well earned 2-0 win over Super League outfit Sydney University at Lily Homs Stadium. Zac Cairncross scored in the 7th minute before Mitchell Long added a second in the 66th to gift Aytek Genc?s men the victory.
At Cromer Park Craig Midgley continued his good run of form as the new manager for Manly United when they knocked out State League One side Fairfield City Lions 4-1. The away side took a shock lead in the 15th minute through Ben Cronk but Manly equalised in the 30th minute via Joey Gibbs before Pascal Julliard added a second in the 54th and Chris Payne added a third a minute later. Gibbs grabbed his second of the game in the 70th minute and that was to be the final goal of the match as the Northern Beaches side progressed through to the Quarter-Final stages of the Cup.
At Christie Park Spirit FC ran home 4-0 victors over the last remaining Association side in Gwawley Bay from the Sutherland Shire. Goals from Mick Trimble, Daniel Cunningham, Leonardo Papanicolaou and Peter Cejka were enough to help progress Jason Van Blerk?s men to the Quarter-Final stages.
Finally at Garside Park the all Super League affair between Granville Rage and Northern Tigers lived up to its expectations of being an entertaining match as five goals were scored with the home side securing victory in extra-time. Nenos Bobo was the hero for the Rage as his two goal haul, the final one coming in extra time, saw his ten-man side reach the next stage of the Cup.
Full reports on each eight games are now online in the McDonald?s Cup section but the official 2010 McDonald?s Cup Quarter-Finals draw is set to take place at Football NSW headquarters on Friday 28th May with representatives from the eight clubs set to witness who they will face in the next stage.
2010 Round of 16 McDonald?s Cup Results
Granville Rage 3 v Northern Tigers 2 aet
Manly United 4
v Fairfield City Lions 1 
Blacktown City 2 v Sydney University 0  
APIA Leichhardt Tigers 2 v Marconi Stallions 3
Sutherland Sharks 4
v Dandaloo FC 1
Blacktown Spartans 1
v Sydney United 1 (4-3 pens)
Bankstown City Lions 0 v South Coast Wolves 1
Spirit FC 4
v Gwawley Bay 0
-By Mark Stavroulakis