FNSW Institute players dominate Australian U16 side

Manchester United Premier Cup 2015, World Finals, Manchester

Australian Joeys Head Coach Tony Vidmar has announced his 23-man squad for the upcoming AFC U-16 Championships Qualifiers in Vietnam.

Vidmar settled on his squad following a string of training camps since the start of 2015 and the AFF U-16 Youth Championships held in July.

Of this 23-man squad, 8 players have been selected from the FNSWI U-15 squad coached by Milan Blagojevic including both GK’s Nicholas Suman and Jacob Botic.

These FNSWI players will be joined by Marconi FC’s Adrian Valenti, Mark Moric and Mirza Muratovic (both Sydney United 58 FC).

The Joeys have been drawn into Group J along with host country Vietnam, Myanmar and Guam.

The Joeys kick off their campaign against Guam at 13:00 ICT (16:00 AEST) on Wednesday 16th September.

Match Schedule

Wednesday 16th September

Australia vs Guam 16:00 AEST Vietnam Youth Football Training Centre, Hanoi

Friday 18th September

Australia vs Myanmar 16:00 AEST Vietnam Youth Football Training Centre, Hanoi

Sunday 20th September          

Australia vs Vietnam 18:30 AEST Vietnam Youth Football Training Centre, Hanoi

From the Qualification stage, 16 teams (inc tournament hosts, India) across all Groups (A-K) will qualify for the 2016 AFC U-16 Championships, to be held in India.

The top four nations at the 2016 AFC U-16 Championships will qualify for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup which will also be held in India.

The Joeys squad for the AFC U-16 Championships Qualifiers (Group J):

1 Nathan Prince (GK) FFV NTC
2 Dylan Pierias  Melbourne City FC
3 Marco Krantis FFSA NTC
4 Mersim Memeti Melbourne City FC
5 Joel King FNSW Institute
6 Luke Bodnar Perth Glory
7 Jaiden Selden Perth Glory
8 Andony Martis FNSW Institute
9 Mirza Muratovic Sydney United 58 FC
10 Lachlan Brook FFSA NTC
11 Ahmed Sweedan FNSW Institute
12 Nicholas Suman (GK) FNSW Institute
13 Patrick Scibilio FNSW Institute
14 Dylan Ryan FNSW Institute
15 Adrian Valenti Marconi FC
16 Ryan Yates FFSA NTC
17 Jacob Italiano Perth Glory
18 Jacob Botic (GK) FNSW Institute
19 Mark Moric Sydney United 58 FC
20 Rahmat Akbari Brisbane Roar FC / FFQ NTC
21 Eduardo Castaneda FFT NTC
22 Andrew Visciglio FFV NTC
23 Ramy Najjarine FNSW Institute