2023 Winter Futsal League Men’s champions crowned

Winter Futsal League Division #2 Grand Final, Mosaic Sports Club Futsal v Canterbury Bankstown Futsal Club on Sunday 16 July, 2023 6:00 pm at Valentine Sports Park

The 2023 Winter Futsal League (WFL) Men’s competitions came to a conclusion on the weekend of the 15-16 July with two new champions crowned in the division 1 and 2 Grand Finals held at Valentine Sports Park.

Mosaic Metros Sports Club proved too strong for Canterbury Bankstown Futsal Club, finishing as 6-0 victors in the Division 2 Final, while extra time was needed to split Enfield Allstars FC and Mountain Majik FC in the Division 1 Final, with the latter holding their nerve to lift the trophy.

The 2023 WFL Men’s competition had ten clubs taking part in nine preliminary rounds before the table was split in two; the top 5 qualifying for Division 1 and the bottom 5 qualifying for Division 2. The competition’s second phase provided five rounds, with each division consisting of top 4 play-off  semi-finals, followed by a final to crown each respective champion.

Football NSW Futsal Manager, Jordan Guerreiro, was delighted with the 2023 season.

“It was another successful season, boosted by the growth of the competition to ten teams,” he said.

“Over the last 3 years, the quality of players has improved and the interest in participating has grown each year.

“The competition certainly illustrates there is a demand to play more futsal outside of the regular summer season and hopefully we can continue to see more clubs interested in being part of the 2024 season.”

Interested clubs can apply through an expression of interest form online via the Winter Futsal League webpage.

Division 2 Grand Final

The Division 2 Grand Final saw Mosaic Metro go toe-to-toe with an inform Canterbury side, who have a number of promising young guns coming through their team. However Mosaic proved too strong, utilising the physical presence and experience of the likes of Max Olsson and Abdullah Al-Attas, while goalkeeper, Alex Pepper, made a number of key contributions to keep his clean sheet and ensure the momentum of the game remained in his team’s favour.


Goal Scorer:

Mosaic Metros: Max Olsson, Abdullah Al-Attas x 3, Samuel Young, Max Oldfield

MVP & Golden Boot: Max Olsson (Mosaic Metros)

Division 1 Grand Final

The Division 1 Grand Final provided a thrilling spectacle with Mountain Majik and Enfield All-Stars finishing normal time in a stalemate at 7-7, following a last minute goal to the All-Stars to force extra time. It was a match filled with emotions and momentum swings however, in the end, it was the Majik outfit who were able to outlast their competitors, scoring four goals in extra time to lift the trophy.


Goal Scorers

Enfield Allstars: Bruno Pivato x 2, Shervin Adeli x 3, Brayden McPherson, Dylan Chu

Mountain Majik: Jordan Guerreiro x 2, Nicholas Bakopolous x 3, Alexander Vlismas x 2, Jamie Dib, Anthony Haddad x 3

MVP: Domenic Badolato (Enfield Allstars)

Golden Boot: Jordan Guerreiro (Mountain Majik)