NSW stars selected in Futsalroos’ AFC Futsal Asian Cup Qualifying squad


As many as 9 NSW born players have been selected Futsalroos’ Head Coach Miles Downie 14-player squad that will represent Australia at the AFC Futsal Asian Cup™ 2024 Qualifiers in October.  

Shervin Adeli, Domenic Badolato, Dominic Cox, Ethan De Melo, Jamie Dib, Daniel Fornito, Wade Giovenali, Jordan Guerreiro and Grant Lynch all won selection into the squad.

The squad featuring some of Australia’s best male Futsal talent will travel to Chinese Taipei for two matches from 7 – 11 October to determine which countries advance to the AFC Futsal Asian Cup™ 2024 to be hosted by Thailand.

A total of 31 teams were drawn into eight groups, where Australia is in Group H with Japan and Hosts Chinese Taipei. To qualify for AFC Futsal Asian Cup ™ 2024, The Futsalroos will need to finish either first or second in their group to advance to the final stage. The action kicks off on Saturday, 7 October when the Futsalroos face Japan at Taipei University Stadium in Taipei City.

Downie has been working hard to galvanise the squad since taking over the head role in 2022 and is looking forward to returning to the international stage.

“The past year has been an exciting period for Australian Futsal and the prospect of competing in the AFC Futsal Asian Cup is something we’re determined to achieve,” Downie said.

“In the lead up to this competition we have been working hard to build a squad who we believe have the skills to compete against the Asian nations and who will form part of the national team for years to come.

“The AFC Futsal Asian Cup qualifiers will be a good test for the squad, and I have full faith that we have the ability to surprise our more experienced opponents.”

On Monday, 9 October, Australia will play host nation, Chinese Taipei, once again at the Taipei University Stadium.

The squad features experienced players from the Futsalroos’ AFF Futsal Championship 2022 campaign in Thailand and the recent PacificAus Sports Futsal Series where Australia hosted the Solomon Islands in a three-match international series in Sydney.

If the Futsalroos are successful in qualifying for the AFC Futsal Asian Cup 2024™, the top four teams from the tournament automatically qualify for the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2024™ in Uzbekistan.


AFC Futsal Asian Cup™ 2024 Qualifiers

Matchday 1 

Saturday, 7 October 2023

Australia v Japan

Taipei University Stadium, Taipei City, Chinese Taipei

Kick-off: 7:00pm local, 9:00pm AEST


Matchday 2 

Monday, 9 October 2023

Chinese Taipei v Australia

Taipei University Stadium, Taipei City, Chinese Taipei

Kick-off: 7:00pm local, 9:00pm AEST



First Name  Surname  Position  Junior Club  Current Club  Current Futsal Team 
Shervin ADELI Pivot Blacktown City FC/Football NSW Northern Tigers /Football NSW Enfield Allstars FC/Football NSW
Christos APOSTOLAKIS GK Yarraville FC/Football Victoria Unattached Moreland FC/Football Victoria
Domenic BADOLATO GK Parramatta FC/Football NSW Unattached Enfield Allstars FC/Football NSW
Adam COOPER Fixo Diamond Valley United SC / Football Victoria Hampton East Brighton FC/Football Victoria Moreland FC/Football Victoria
Dominic COX Ala Blacktown City FC/Football NSW St George City FC/Football NSW Enfield Allstars FC/Football NSW
Ethan DE MELO Ala Maccabi Hakoah Junior FC/Football NSW Unattached Mascot Vipers FC/Football NSW
Jamie DIB Fixo Blacktown Spartans FC/Football NSW Dulwich Hill FC /Football NSW Mountain Majik FC/Football NSW
Daniel FORNITO Ala Canterbury Bankstown FC/Football NSW Dulwich Hill FC /Football NSW Mascot Vipers FC/Football NSW
Tyler GARNER Ala Kalamunda United FC/Football West Olympic Kingsway Soccer Club / Football West Rockingham Cambio Cumbre FC/Football West
Wade GIOVENALI Universal Hills United FC/Football NSW Hills United FC /Football NSW Dural Warriors FC/Football NSW
Jordan GUERREIRO Ala St George FC/Football NSW Lugarno FC/Football NSW Mountain Majik FC/Football NSW
Ezekiel HODGES Fixo/Ala Tintenbar East Ballina FC/Football Queensland Unattached Ipswich FC/Football Queensland
Grant LYNCH Pivot Northern Tigers FC/Football NSW Blacktown City FC /Football NSW UTS Northside FC/Football NSW
Scott ROGAN Ala Brunswick Zebras FC/Football Victoria Laverton FC / Football Victoria Fitzroy Tigers FC/Football Victoria