Futsal Premier League Open Women’s Grand Final Review

965x634 futsal PL GF preview and review 20234

Mountain Majik capped off their 2023 season claiming the Futsal Premier League Open Women’s championship with a 2-1 extra time victory over Macarthur Quake at Valentine Sports Park.

Ella Buchanan scored in the final minute before who else but Clare Holder found the winner in the first period of extra time to give them the trophy.

That’s to take nothing away from the Quake who were brave holding onto a one goal lead for a large period of this, Alvina Khoshaba their goal scorer.

The first half of this one saw both sides have chances on goal in a good contest between each other’s attack and defense.

Mountain Majik starting the better of the two sides with Brianna Clarke making some early saves in the opening minute. Buchannan and Clare Holder both continuing to threaten as the minutes ticked on.

While Maddie Malone had the Quakes first opportunity three minutes in, Putting her effort off target.

Clare Holder then having another couple of chances soon after, first denied by a scrambling defense before Clarke made another save.

Quake then beginning to find their feet after that chance with Olivia Sloan and Linda Dudek both forcing saves from Majik keeper Jordan Weizman.

And they capitalised on their momentum soon after. Alvina Khoshaba scoring once again for the Quake playing a give and go to her left before finishing at the near post. 1-0 to the Quake.

Majik finishing the half with a couple of chances at an equaliser. Holder with the first across the face before she again hooked a left footed shot wide from a better position central.

Quake holding on for a 1-0 lead going into the break.

Once again, it was the Majik who started the better in the second half with Kaiya Buchanan hitting the near post from a tight angle in the 24th minute.

The Majik continuing to apply pressure going as close as hitting the base of the left post. Clare Holder with that strike before the ball fell to Halle Thomas who couldn’t steer home with her reflex effort.

That’s not to say the Quake weren’t having opportunities at the other end of the pitch, Khoshaba a constant threat throughout the second half. While Maddie Malone nearly added a second with a break forward with just over five minutes left.

As mentioned earlier however, the Quake’s defense was proving to be the difference at this point with Olivia Sloan and Brianna Clarke leading that effort proving hard to break down.

The pressure eventually telling with Majik finding a way through with a minute left. Clare Holder with an initial shot from the right saved into the path of Ella Buchanan who steered the ball home on the lunge. 1-1

That late goal turning the momentum with Majik having the two best opportunities in the first period of extra time. Clare Holder taking one of them pouncing on a Quake defender slipping in possession, taking it around the keeper and finishing to put the Majik 2-1 up.

Weizman making a final save at the death to deny Sophie Brokenshire at point blank range from inside the circle, the Quakes best chance of the extra-time period.

Majik crowned our 2023 champions after a highly impressive campaign which saw them lead the competition for much of it.

Macarthur Quake Futsal 1 (Khoshaba 14’)

Mountain Majik Futsal Club 2 (Ella Buchanan 40’, Clare Holder 43’)

Youth Grand Final Results

U17G: Macarthur Quake Futsal 2-3 UTS Northside

U15G: Mascot Vipers 6p-5p Dural Warriors

U13G: Enfield Allstars 2-1 Boomerangs FS

By Justin Smith

a group of people posing for a photo