Sydney United Searching for Success

a football player on a field

It was a disastrous 2007 for the Reds who missed out on a Finals Series spot after previously taking out the Grand Final in 2006 by defeating the Blacktown City Demons 4-1 when a young promising young striker called Luka Glavas scored all four goals.

2008 has seen a change of coach as the Reds have employed former player and midfield maestro Ivan Petkovic as the club?s number one while ex-United player Anthony Zmire has been appointed as the club?s assistant coach.

Petkovic has brought across a number of his ex-players from Super League outfit Rockdale City Suns in the hope that they can stake their claims in becoming fully fledged NSW Premier League players.

Sash Trajcevski, tough tackling defender Josip Moric and goalkeeper Steve Minovski have all called Edensor Park their new home and have followed Petkovic?s lead in the hope of cementing a starting eleven spot within the squad.

Club captain Joe Vrkic will once again be United?s leader from the back and he will be assisted by new recruit and former Marconi Stallions stopper Damon Collina.

Former Manly United youngster Dominic Rossi has also been snapped up by Petkovic as has former Super League Silver Medal winner Elsid Barkhousir from the Mt Druitt Town Rangers and ex-Sydney Olympic midfielder Lisandro Berbis.

The club has also added a touch of Brazilian flair as former Parramatta PCYC FC star Christian De Aguiar Soares has also been added to the team?s roster.

The club?s biggest signing though thus far has been former Perth Glory and Sydney FC striker Luka Glavas who has once again returned to his old stomping ground in the hope of lifting his profile up once more.

The talented Bosnar brothers Ivan and Milan have again re-signed with the club as has A-League target Petar Markovic, Mitchell Thompson, Ricky Perinich, Stephen Tresoglavic, Mason Palmieri and ?Mr Consistency? Todd Brodie.

Like a handful of clubs have hinted prior to the season kicking off on the 22nd of February, an influx of an A-League player or two will certainly be in the mix for Sydney United who hope to achieve more success than 2007 starting with the Johnny Warren Cup.

Sydney United 2008: Steve Minovski, Lisandro Berbis, Milan Bosnar, Ivo Bosnar, Peter Markovic, Mitchell Thompson, Stephen Tresoglavic, Josip Moric, Damon Collina, Sash Trajcevski, Mason Palmieri, Ricky Perinich , Andrija Petkovic, Luka Glavas, Todd Brodie, Dominic Rossi, Elsid Barkhousir, Christian De Aguiar Soares, Joe Vrkic, Christopher Boyle, Paul Curjak, Adrian Karakolevski, Michael Nestorovski, Adrian Rezo, Michael Skaroupka, David Zaharija