Demons Take Youthful Approach to 2008


The club remarkably lost fifteen players from its championship winning squad with the likes of Tolgay Ozbey (Marconi Stallions), Luke Roodenburg (Overseas), Mirko Jurilj (Sydney Olympic), Bobby Dragas (Sydney Olympic), Paul Wither (Sydney Olympic), Roger Galayini (Sydney Olympic), Milorad Simonovic (Sydney Olympic), Tayfun Devrimol (Bankstown City), Ben Gough (Marconi Stallions), Adam Biddle (Sydney FC) and Ivan Necevski (Sydney FC) all parting company with the Demons.

Last season?s NSW Premier League Coach of the Year winner Aytek Genc also moved on from the club as Blacktown appointed Ken Schembri as its new manager for 2008.

A number of youngsters from the recent Under 20?s Blacktown City Demons squad have been rewarded with senior contracts for the up and coming season which will see a number of fresh new faces unearthed under the famous Demons stable.

Known for developing some of the best youngsters in the game, the club has adopted the approach of giving young promising players a chance to shine in the Premier League.

Thus far, only four players from last season?s squad have re-signed with the club in goalkeeper Matthew Nemes, defender Matthew Pressello, youth star Ryan Walsh and creative midfielder Leo Carle.

Tough tackling defender Paul Karbon has once again returned to his former club after a stint with the Marconi Stallions while ex-Stallions youth player Ken Chun and former Penrith-Nepean United attacker Brian Vanega make up some of the new names in Schembri?s squad.

The spotlight will be on last season?s joint Under 20?s Player of the Year winner Chris Bedzo who excelled as being a future star in the making while Demons? junior stars Jesse Pinto and Nicholas Rouco will also be one?s to watch out for.

Rest assured the Demons are eyeing the prospect of signing a couple of experienced players, some ex-A-League stars before the start of the NSW Premier League season.

Blacktown City Demons 2008: Matthew Pressello, Matthew Nemes, Paul Karbon, Ken Chun, Leo Carle, Christopher Bedzo, Daniel Wilkinson, Brian Vanega, Kaawi Rakmon, Ryan Walsh, Nicholas Rouco, Jesse Pinto.
*More to be announced