The Tiger Turf Cup is finally here


Football NSW?s Client Services and Competitions Manager George Pashalis was overwhelmed at the positive response the Tiger Turf Cup had amongst all the clubs for season 2008.
?It?s great to have seen an increase in the participation rate of clubs involved in the Tiger Turf Cup for 2008.
?I am sure we will see a lot of surprises like we have seen so many times at various Cups from across the globe.
?Take for instance the English FA Cup where you?ve seen only one English Premier League side left and the other three being English Championship outfits, this could possibly happen here as you never know.
?Full marks to Tiger Turf for its amazing support of this tremendous competition,? Pashalis stated.
NSW?s answer to the ?English FA Cup? commences on two dates, the 1st of April and the 3rd of April when 16 matches take place at various venues across Sydney between Conference and Association clubs.
Association clubs Parklea, Miranda Magpies, Gymea United FC, Epping Eastwood FC, Como West Jannali Junior SC, Ariana FC, Fairfield Hotspurs, Lilli Pilli, North Epping Rangers, Bankstown Strikers, PCYC FC Parramatta, Lugarno, Riverstone Schofields, Werrington FC and Forrest Rangers who play out the bye, will all be vying for a position into round 2 of this prestigious tournament.
The pick of round 1 matches sees an all Association match-up between Lilli Pilli and North Epping Rangers at the luxurious Tiger Turf pitch at Seymour Shaw on the 3rd of April while all eyes will also be fixed on the Central Coast Conference based side Penang FC who take on the Colo Colo Wanderers at Parks Reserve on the 3rd of April.
There has been an increase in the participation of clubs in the 2008 Tiger Turf Cup with as many as 71 clubs vying for the ultimate prize in being labeled the new Tiger Turf Cup Champions.
There has also been two inclusions from the Illawarra Premier League as last season?s Tiger Turf semi-finalists Dandaloo and the 2007 Illawarra Premier League Champions Albion Park White Eagles have also thrown their names in the ring.
Both clubs will kick start their Tiger Turf journey in round two of the competition.
TeleChoice Premier League sides will enter the Cup in Round 3 while Division One and Super League sides will commence their Tiger Turf Cup challenges in Round 2.
2007 Tiger Turf Cup winners Wollongong FC will be hoping that they can re-capture the Cup after they downed Manly United 3-2 in what was a pulsating Grand Final.
Two successful spot kicks from Daniel Aliffi while a single from Man of the Match Osagie Ederaro downed a 10-men Manly United outfit who had Dusan Mihajlovic and Roberto Hamad as their scorers.
Tiger Turf have once again shown their fantastic commitment towards sponsoring this wonderful competition.
From grass roots to International sport, TigerTurf?s comprehensive range of playing surfaces have been manufactured and supplied across the globe to meet standards recognised for optimum performance and enjoyment, as well as to protect the participants.
Tiger Turf?s most recognisable pitch is Sutherland Sharks? home ground Seymour Shaw which has received glowing reviews about the state of the surface which continues to impress the various footballers in NSW.
You can view all round 1 Tiger Turf Cup fixtures by click on