Payne for Manly as young gun bags a brace for Sydney FC


Close to 2000 spectators braved the cold to watch ”Bling FC”, who were missing the likes of Mark Bridge and Stuart Musialik due to Olyroo duty as well as marquee signing John Aloisi.
Payne, who is still contracted with Manly until the end of the Telechoice Premier League season, opened the scoring midway through the first half after a brilliant shot from the edge of the box.
He doubled his tally a minute after halftime after capitalising on an errant back-pass from defender Andrew Mailer to slot home past Luke Femia
The 17 year old striker plays for the peninsular club in the state TeleChoice Premier League, but did United no favours, bagging a goal in each half to steer Sydney FC to a two nil win, and impressing coach, John Kosmina along the way.
?Kids got a bit about him, you know taking it from here to the A-League, it?s a big step up, but he had a bit of motivation tonight, his home crowd, home ground, against his team-mates and he proved a point, it was good.?
After bagging a double in his first full game for Sydney FC, Payne plans to make sure it?s a match his Manly team-mates remember.
?I go home with the goal keeper every Thursday after training, so he will be hearing about it,? Payne said.
The inaugural A League champions were sluggish at times but did enough in patches to suggest they will be one of the leading contenders this season.
Sydney FC’s next game is their first in the Pre-Season Cup against the Queensland Roar on Saturday July 19 at Campbelltown Sports Stadium.
Match Details 
Sydney FC 1. Clint Bolton [gk] (20. Ivan Necevski [gk] 46?), 2. Iain Fyfe, 24. Simon Colosimo, 5. Mitchell Prentice, 7. Robbie Middleby, 10. Steve Corica (22. Shannon Cole 46?), 12. Joe Schirripa (6. Tony Popovic 46?), 15. Terry McFlynn, 16. Chris Payne, 17. Jacob Timpano, 21. Adam Biddle 
Manly United 1. Brad Swanscott [gk], 4. Roberto Hamad, 5. Pascal Julliard, 6. Bradley Groves, 9. Robbie Cattanach, 10. Dusan Mihajlouil, 12. Michael Lloyd-Green, 14. Caetano Lima, 17. Sean Bowden, 19. Richard Williams
Substitutes 2. Adam Israel, 3. Andrew Mailer, 28. Luke Reading, 8. Michael Williams, 11. Craig Midgely, 27. Andrew Hayward, 15. Cameron Jones, 16. Jamie Garside, 20. Rhyss Keane, 21. Luke Femia, 24. Scott Wright, 25. Chris Van Leur