Wanderers claim Powerchair Football Title


The Western Sydney Wanderers Powerchair football team claimed their first Premiership in the 2016 NSW Powerchair Premier League at Kevin Betts Stadium, Mt Druitt.

Western Sydney Wanderers Powerchair team defeated the five-time champions Newcastle Jets in an awesome showdown for the final round of the 2016 NSW Powerchair Premier League competition. Both teams finished at the top of the Premier League table on 24 points however on the day the Wanderers side clinched the title with a 2-0 victory thanks to goals from Abdullah Karim and Ben Keyte.

The Western Sydney Wanderers scored in the first half and held onto the lead into the second half before securing the game with a final goal to keep the Jets out of contention for the title.

Chris Suffield a NSW Powerchair player was in attendance of the match and enjoyed the exciting final.

“The Wanderers proved they were the best team throughout the season, combining confident performances with hard-fought wins. A six-game winning streak during the middle of the season proved vital to the Wanderers title challenge. 11 goals to Abdullah Karim highlighted the team’s attacking prowess while they also conceded the fewest goals for the season. The Newcastle Jets grinded their way into the final round however the red and black were just too strong, coming out league champions by 3 points.

“After playing against each other all season, it’s been amazing how well we have been able to gel as a team. We’re all looking forward to defending our national title in a couple of weeks.”

Many of the players in the final are part of the NSW Powerchair Football team who are in preparation for the 2016 National Powerchair Championships in October. The NSW team are looking to defend their 2015 national title, which they won via penalties against Queensland last year.

Players selected into the 2016 NSW Powerchair team include :

  • Ben Keyte – Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Jacob Cross – Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Abdul Karim – Western Sydneyn Wanderers
  • Chris Suffield – Central Coast Mariners
  • Chris Turnbull – Central Coast Mariners
  • Andrew Kim – Sydney FC
  • Jordan Crane – Sydney FC
  • Dimitri Lolio-Davis – Newcastle Jets

The 2016 Australian Powerchair Football National Championships kicks off on Monday 10th of October at Kevin Betts Stadium, Ralph Place, Mt Druitt.  Games will be played throughout the week with the finals taking place on Saturday 15th of October.