NSW Metro Under 14 Girls crowned National Youth Champions


NSW Metro Under 14 Girls have been crowned 2022 National Youth Champions after defeating Queensland 1-0 at Coffs Harbour on Friday.

The Matias Martinez coached side proved too strong for their opponents thanks to a Talia Younis winner in what was a great display of football that was played in tough conditions due to the persistent rain that hit the Northern part of NSW.

It summed up a fantastic week for the Girls while in the Under 16’s, NSW Metro grabbed third spot via a Tea Mucenski goal that sunk NSW Country 1-0.

There were also a number of awards presented at the tournament’s conclusion.

Football Australia Community Refereeing Manager Jacqui Hurford presented the awards for the Referee of the Tournament to Molly Godsell from Football NSW and Courtney Van Diesen from Football Victoria for the under-14s and under-16s tournaments respectively.

Football Australia Head of Goalkeeping and Matildas Goalkeeper Coach Tony Franken presented the Goalkeeper of the Tournament award to Capital Football’s Georgia Ritchie in the under-14s and Jasmine Black from NSW Metro in the under-16s.

Younis’ day got even better after Football Australia National Teams High Performance Manager Michael Nielsen announced her as the under-14s player of the tournament, with Ischia Brooking from Western Australia the under-16s player of the tournament.

The tournament kicked off in Coffs Harbour on Monday with more than 350 of the best female under-14s and 16s players from across Australia taking part.

The tournament returned this year after two years away due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 2022 National Youth Championships for Boys will be played next week.

2022 National Youth Championships for Girls Finals Results

Under-14s Final – NSW Metro 1 (Talia Younis) defeated Queensland 0

Under-14s Third v Fourth Play-Off – Victoria 1 (Tina Huang) drew Capital Football 1 (Lucy Cameron) Victoria won on penalties

Under-16s Final – Queensland Maroon 1 (Grace Kuilamu) defeated Victoria Blue 0

Under-16s Third v Fourth Play-Off – NSW Metro 1 (Tea Mucenski) defeated NSW Country 0

Award Winners

Under-16s Player of the Tournament – Ischia Brooking (Western Australia)

Under-14s Player of the Tournament – Talia Younis (NSW Metro)

Under-16s Goalkeeper of the Tournament – Jasmine Black (NSW Metro)

Under-14s Goalkeeper of the Tournament – Georgia Ritchie (Capital Football)

Under-16s Referee of the Tournament – Courtney Van Diesen (Football Victoria)

Under-14s Referee of the Tournament – Molly Godsell (Football NSW)