Allstars secure Minor Premiership with tense draw against Quake


With Sydney City Eagles just three points behind them the point gained from the 2-2 draw also ensured that Campbelltown made the first semi final and a chance at an easier path to the grand final. 
There was plenty at stake as both sides wanted to win the minor premiership so the game was played at a very fast pace from start to finish and threatened at times to boilover as both sides went for the win.
Campbelltown took the lead after six minutes when Dean Lockhart drilled a long range shot low across the keeper into the net.
The response was immediate from the Allstars when almost from the restart Shervin Adeli collected the ball down the right side and slotted the ball past the keeper from the edge of the area to level the score at 1-1.
Moments before half time Dean Lockhart crossed for Danny Martinez to slam the ball home from close range to give the Quake a 2-1 lead.
The second half was just like the first as both teams traded shot for shot with both Roberto Maiorana and Gavin O?Brien in goal making vital blocks to keep their sides in the contest. 
Inner West grabbed the goal they desperately needed when Adrian Vizzari spotted some space through the middle of the court and smashed an inch perfect long range shot low into the corner of the goal to make it 2-2.
The attempts on goal continued from both sides but in the end thanks to some great keeping and solid defence nothing separated the two sides and the game ended in a deserved draw. 
With six teams winning the minor premiership the Allstars won the Club Championship at a canter this season.
After the game a delighted Pat Lancuba of the Inner West Allstars spoke about winning the Club Championship. ? To build a top club first you first have to put in place a good management team then seek good coaches and support staff for them, after that you try to attract the right players?. ?You also must hold your trials at the start of the season to see if you can uncover any unknowns and build your teams from there?.
With regard to the mens side he added ? at the start of the season not many people gave the mens Allstars side much of a chance but with the right coaches and building team cohesion and an attitude to play for each other they?ve made it to the minor premiership.?

Allstars                                                                         Campbelltown
11. Ediz Alpkaya                                                           1. Gavin O?Brien
 10. Adrian Vizzari                                                          2. David Van Dinklage
22. Roberto Maiorana                                                     3. Michael Candy
2.   Ben Lam                                                                 4. Dean Lockhart
7. Bruno Pivato                                                              5. Mark Symington
3.  Daniel Fogarty                                                          6. Shane Soutter
14 Shervin Adeli                                                             7. Tuan Cao
8.  Shane Ardle                                                              8. Pablo Alcantara
12. Robert Greenway                                                      9. Ian McAndrew
                                                                                    10. Danny Martinez
                                                                                    11. Jake McGing
                                                                                    12. Justin Faint

Inner West –  Adrian Vizzari, Shervin Adeli
Campbelltown ? Dean Lockhart, Danny Martinez

Fouls ? Inner West 7, Campbelltown 3
Yellow Cards ? Inner West 1,  Campbelltown 1
Red Cards ? None

Officials ? Scott Kidson, Johnathon Moore

By Peter Davies