Australian Powerchair Football Nationals Championships kicks off in NSW


The best Powerchair players from across the country are competing this week at Kevin Betts Stadium to be crowned the national champions of Powerchair football.

The Governor of NSW David Hurley, global ambassador of Powerchair football Rale Rasic, Football NSW staff and Members of Australian Powerchair Football Association were all in attendance to open the electrifying 2016 National Championships. The tournament is set to be extremely competitive with twenty-four matches to be played over five days.

The states competing in the 2016 Championships include :

·         New South Wales

·         Queensland

·         South Australia

·         Victoria

·         Western Australia

David Hurley Governor of NSW officially opened the 2016 national Powerchair football championships.

“I am excited to be back again this year for another tournament at Kevin Betts Stadium in Mt Druitt. This is very spirited competition, you all play with a great spirit and the right spirit.

“It is a real privilege to be here today.

“This is a particularly important national championships this year as a national team will be selected to participate in a world cup in Florida next year. It’s a great thing to represent your state however an even greater honour to represent your country and wear green and gold.”

Former Socceroos Coach and Global Ambassador of the sport Rale Rasic was pleased to be in attendance of games.

“Football has proven time and time against to be an inclusive sport. Your or old, male or female, on your feet or on your wheels, football allows anyone wot take part. What you athletes show on the court proves that there is no such thing as disability, only ability”.

The 2015 Australian Powerchair Football Championships were crowned by NSW winning a penalty shoot-out 4-3 against QLD after the scored were locked 2-2. The NSW side will be looking to defend their title this year with plenty of competition from the four other states.

Football NSW Head of Football Peter Hugg was appreciative of all those involved in making the tournament possible.

“A special congratulations to all the helpers, carers and the mechanics with a particular mention to the dedicated mechanics who’s work are almost akin to a formula 1 racetrack. Thank you all for your commitment and wish you well for a wonderful week.”

The NSW team opened the championships with a first match thriller winning 3-0 against South Australia. The team then played a 2015 final re-match against QLD with NSW falling to their fiercest rivals 4-1, however they have the change for redemption on Wednesday.

The Powerchair Football Championships takes place from Monday 10th October through to Saturday 15th October with a highly anticipated final to take place at 3pm on Saturday 15th October at Kevin Betts Stadium, Mt Druitt.