NSW reign supreme in Paralympic 7-a-side Championships


The New South Wales Paralympic Football State Team have clinched their 12th National Title with a 3-0 win over Western Australia at the 2016 National Paralympic 7-a-side Championships held at Valentine Sport Park.

It was an end to end match much like their earlier group stage match-up that ended in a 2-2 draw.

In front of a full crowd at Valentine Sports Park, host team New South Wales were far too strong for their opponents.

The game was locked at nil-all in the early exchanges until the Blues hit first blood just before half-time.

Golden Boot and Man of the Match star Jack Williams scored a fantastic goal past Western Australian goalkeeper Chris Barty that sent the home fans into raptures.

Just after half time and Williams bagged his brace while Ben Atkins finished off the match with the third that capped off a memorable few days for the victorious NSW squad.

Queensland Coach Jay Larkins echoed the voices of many players, supporters and coaching staff regarding the tournament which was well received by all.

“This is by far the best National Paralympic Football Championships tournament I have ever been involved in.

“A big thank you to Football NSW and FFA for putting on such a wonderful tournament.”

Victorious NSW Captain and Pararoos Vice skipper Chris Pyne was overwhelmed with excitement after the New South Wales team took out the silverware.

“These are the best bunch of lads I have ever had the privilege of playing with, for eight years we have won this trophy now and it comes down to the commitment, hard-work and friendship between a great group of players.

“A huge thanks to Football NSW and FFA for putting on brilliant tournament, this is how it should be every year.”

There were a number of notable spectators in the crowd with the likes of FFA Head of National Performance Luke Casserly, Blacktown City Council Counsellor Julie Griffiths, Head Pararoos Coach Kai Lammert and Pararoos Ambassador Claire Falls who all presented trophies on the day.

Finals Results

Bronze Medal match

Queensland 2 (Robbie Christie, Angus Magregor)  

Combined State Team (Chris Gudgeon) 1

Gold Medal Match

New South Wales 3 (Jack Williams 2, Ben Atkins)

Western Australia 0